Tecumseh

Tecumseh Combining the unique features of three historic communities (the former Town of Tecumseh, the former Village of St. Clair Beach, and the former  Township of Sandwich South), Tecumseh offers a near perfect balance of small town qualities with big city amenities and opportunities.  With a population of 24,224 the Town is situated close to an international metropolitan population of five million and enjoys direct access to the NAFTA superhighway.  Small town service and friendliness prevail, enhanced by the warm climate and natural beauty of its southwestern Ontario location. With successful industrial and business sectors, a commitment to sustainable, planned development, and a wealth of cultural and recreational opportunities,  Tecumseh offers a vibrant destination to visit or to call home. Historical Background The Town of Tecumseh has a rich history, going back to 1792 when it was first settled and known as Ryegate, a small settlement of three families.  It was renamed in 1812 to honour the Shawnee tribe leader, Tecumseh, who was killed at the battle in the War of 1812. The creation of Tecumseh Road in 1838, and the establishment of the Great Western Railway opened up the area for settlement, and the town became an important railway depot and stopover for travelers.  County residents also traveled by horse and buggy into Tecumseh, and then transferred onto the train, journeying by rail the rest of the way...

view more info

Willistead

[dciframe]http://friendsofwillistead.com/willistead_history.html,700,900,0,auto,border:1px solid blue;align:left;[/dciframe] Willistead Manor was built in 1906 for Edward Chandler Walker, the second son of Hiram Walker, founder of the world-renowned distillery. Willistead is the creation of Albert Kahn, a noted Detroit architect of the day. Kahn built three buildings on the 15-acre estate: the manor house, the coach house and the gatehouse. Designed in the 16th century Tudor-Jacobean style of an English Manor House, the main building was begun in 1904. No expense was spared in the materials or labour used. The exterior of gray limestone, quarried in Amherstburg, was hand cut at the Willistead work site by Scottish stonemasons specifically imported for the...

view more info